Hydrogeological Numerical Modeling and Geophysics

Hydrogeological Numerical Modeling and Geophysics

Analysis of aquifer reservoirs in fractured basement rocks
  

Rene Lefebvre (INRS-ETE) and Christine Rivard (GSC-Quebec)

The objective of this project which is part of the PACES in Montérégie-Est is to develop tools and approaches to adequately characterize the different types of aquifers composed of fractured rock units. The hydraulic and fracture characterization of the region’s fractured-rock aquifers will be completed and the information obtained will be integrated into a numerical model of the regional groundwater flow.

Remote Sensing in support of Groundwater Studies  

Shusen Wang

Groundwater provides drinking water to about one third of all Canadians and up to 80% of the rural population. The protection of clean water supplies has been identified as a national priority. This project addresses the government needs to better understand the dynamics and vulnerability of groundwater resources through developing remote sensing-based modelling tools and data products for key regional aquifers.

Geophysical study of deep aquifers for the geological storage of CO

Bernard Giroux

This program is integrated within the Research Chair in Geological Sequestration of CO2. The objective is to understand the effects of CO2 on seismic and electric responses for deep saline aquifers and determine how to quantify these effects in situ. The main goal is to obtain precise and economical monitoring techniques to ensure the safety of the geological storage of CO2.

Geostatistical integration of borehole geophysical and hydrogeological data for aquifer characterization at the local and regional scales 

Erwan Gloaguen

The objectives of this research program are: 1) to apply innovative borehole geophysical surveying methods to the hydrogeological characterization of aquifers to better account for their heterogeneity, 2) to develop approaches based on the geostatistical integration of geophysical and geological data to obtain 3D images of the spatial distribution of the deposits, and 3) to integrate borehole geophysical and hydrogeological data to build several hydrogeological models at the scale of a test site.

CLIMB: Integrated approaches to reduce uncertainties in the analysis of climate change impacts on water resources 

Claudio Paniconi

This project is part of an important European research program called CLIMB. The main goal here is to assess the risk and vulnerability for freshwater resources and to develop adaptation strategies to ensure sustainable management of these resources. The tools obtained will be applied to watersheds in the Mediterranean basin and in Quebec. Other INRS-ETE researchers involved are: Monique Bernier, Norman Bergeron, Karem Chokmani and Taha Ouarda

Integrated hydrological modeling to improve the management of water resources and the analysis of climate change impacts 

Claudio Paniconi

Bilateral collaborative project (Quebec/Italy) to develop advanced simulation models applicable to environmental problems related to or affected by the hydrological cycle and to obtain and analyse observational data for several study sites where the simulation models will be applied.

Characterization and modeling of heterogeneity in local and regional aquifer systems 

René Lefebvre

The objective of this research program is to better characterize aquifer systems and better represent their dynamics using numerical models. It is essential to understand groundwater flow dynamics at the regional and local scales to improve the management of aquifer systems and ensure their protection.

Publications

-

Modélisation hydrogéologique et géophysique

Modélisation hydrogéologique et géophysique

Analyse des réservoirs aquifères en socle rocheux fracturé 
 

Rene Lefebvre (INRS-ETE) et Christine Rivard (CGC-Québec)

L'objectif général de ce projet est de développer des outils et des approches permettant de caractériser adéquatement les divers types d'aquifères constitués d'unités rocheuses fracturées. Ce projet est réalisé dans le cadre du PACES en Montérégie Est. Les travaux comprennent la poursuite de la caractérisation de la fracturation et de l'hydraulique des aquifères rocheux fracturés de la région et l’intégration de ces informations dans un modèle numérique d'écoulement régional de l'eau souterraine.

Télédétection en soutien à la cartographie et aux évaluations des aquifères

Shusen Wang

Les eaux souterraines fournissent l’eau potable à environ un tiers de tous les Canadiens et jusqu’à 80 % de la population rurale. La protection des réserves d’eau salubre a été déclarée priorité nationale. Ce projet porte sur la nécessité, pour le gouvernement, de mieux comprendre la dynamique et la vulnérabilité des ressources en eaux souterraines des principaux aquifères régionaux.

Étude géophysique des aquifères profonds dans une perspective de gestion des ressources énergétiques 

Bernard Giroux

Dans le cadre de la Chaire de recherche en séquestration géologique du CO2, ce programme vise à comprendre les effets du CO2 sur les réponses sismique et électrique pour des aquifères salins profonds, et à déterminer les meilleurs moyens de quantifier ces effets in situ. Le but est d'obtenir des techniques de suivi précises et économiques qui rendront la séquestration géologique du CO2 sécuritaire et acceptable.

Intégration géostatistique de mesures géophysiques et hydrogéologiques en forages pour la caractérisation des aquifères à l'échelle locale et régionale 

Erwan Gloaguen

Les objectifs de ce programme de recherche sont : 1) d’appliquer des méthodes géophysiques en forages novatrices à la caractérisation hydrogéologique afin de mieux représenter l'hétérogénéité des aquifères, 2) développer des approches basées sur l'intégration géostatistique de données géophysiques et géologiques pour représenter en 3D la distribution spatiale des dépôts, et 3) intégrer différentes données géophysiques et hydrogéologiques en forages afin de construire plusieurs modèles hydrogéologiques à l'échelle d’un site test.

CLIMB : Approches intégrées pour la réduction des incertitudes dans les analyses des impacts du changement climatique sur la ressource en eau 

Claudio Paniconi

Ce projet fait partie de CLIMB, un projet européen de grande envergure. Le but est d’évaluer les risques et les vulnérabilités auxquels font face les ressources en eau douce et de concevoir des stratégies appropriées d'adaptation pour la gestion durable de ces ressources. Les outils développés seront appliqués dans des bassins versants de la région méditerranéenne et du Québec. Plusieurs autres chercheurs de l’INRS-ETE sont impliqués : Monique Bernier, Normand Bergeron, Karem Chokmani  et Taha Ouarda

Modélisation hydrologique intégrée pour l'amélioration de la gestion des ressources en eau et l'analyse des impacts du changement climatique 

Claudio Paniconi

Projet de collaboration bilatéral (Québec/Italie) visant le développement de technologies de simulation avancées applicables aux problèmes environnementaux reliés ou affectés par le cycle hydrologique ainsi que l'acquisition et l'analyse de données d'observation sur plusieurs sites d'études où les modèles de simulation seront appliqués.

Caractérisation et modélisation de l'hétérogénéité dans les systèmes aquifères locaux et régionaux 

René Lefebvre

Le but de ce programme de recherche est de mieux caractériser les systèmes aquifères et de mieux représenter leur dynamique à l'aide de modèles numériques. Il est essentiel de bien comprendre la dynamique d'écoulement de l'eau souterraine, tant au niveau régional que local, afin d’assurer la gestion et la protection des systèmes aquifères et des puits d'approvisionnement.

Publications

-